Revisiting India-Pakistan encounters in World Cup history

Arch-rivals India and Pakistan are set to clash on June 16

india-pakistan-fans-afp Pakistan cricket fan "Chacha Cricket", AKA Chacha Sufi Jalil (left) and Indian cricket fan Sudhir Gautam wave flags at a super-fan event in Manchester, ahead of the India-Pakistan 2019 World Cup cricket match | AFP

Arch-rivals India and Pakistan are set to clash on June 16 at the ICC World Cup 2019 at the Old Trafford stadium. The tickets for the match were reportedly sold out in just 48 hours, with most takers being from India. Every time these teams meet, the cricket lovers expect sparks to fly.

What makes each contest between India and Pakistan mouth-watering is that they do not play bilateral series anymore owing to political tensions. Also, Pakistan have never beaten India in a World Cup in six encounters so far.

This year, India have quite a few 'debutants' as far as World Cup experience goes, like Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, K.L. Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, Kuldeep Yadav, Vijay Shankar and Yuzvendra Chahal. Jasprit Bumrah, who is currently the world no. 1 bowler in ODIs, is one of the most awaited entries into the World Cup this year.

ALSO READ: Inzamam must let Sarfaraz decide playing XI: Former Pakistan pace legend Sarfraz Nawaz

Pakistan, on the other hand, have retained the 11 players from the winning team of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy and will include four other players—Abid Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hasnain and Shaheen Afridi. Pakistan had thrashed India by 180 runs in the final at the Oval.

The time is ripe to take a look at the India-Pakistan encounters in the World Cup history.


February 15. Adelaide Oval Stadium. India won the toss and elected to bat first and scored 300/7 in 50 overs with Virat Kohli scoring a 107 (126). Shikhar Dhawan and Suresh Raina, too, chipped in with 73 and 74 respectively. Although Pakistan’s Misbah-ul-Haq scored 76 runs in 84 balls, the team failed to chase the target, being bowled out for 224 in 47 overs. Ahmed Shehzad (47 off 73 balls) and Haris Sohail (36 off 48) were the other contributors with the bat for Pakistan. Mohammed Shami (4/35) and Mohit Sharma (2/35) were the pick of Indian bowlers. Kohli was the Man of the Match.

India-Kohli-reacts-after-scoring Virat Kohli reacts after scoring the century against Pakistan in Adelaide at the 2015 World Cup | Reuters


India, being the hosts, had the upper hand throughout the tournament. It was a dream come true for cricket lovers, when the Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led Team India took on Pakistan in the semifinal at Mohali. India won the toss and chose to bat. They scored 260/9, with Sachin Tendulkar making 85 runs. The batting maestro was dropped four times by the Pakistani fielders and an LBW appeal was overturned when he was on 23. Pakistan were dismissed for 231 runs in 49.5 overs. Tendulkar was the Man of the Match. India went on to win the World Cup, beating Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai.

2011-ICC-Cricket-World-Cup Indian players celebrate after beating Pakistan during the semifinal of the 2011 World Cup, in Mohali | AFP


The arch-rivals met on March 1 at the Centurion Park Stadium. The Indian team led by Sourav Ganguly did not have the best of starts in the tournament but were finding their groove back. The Pakistanis, led by pacer Waqar Younis, was determined to set the record straight against India in the World Cups. They won the toss and chose to bat first. They scored 273/7, riding on Saeed Anwar's 101-run knock. India chased down the target in 45.4 overs, with Sachin Tendulkar missing out on a century by two runs. Tendulkar went on to win the Man of the Tournament, for emerging as the top run-getter, with 673 runs. India lost in the final to Australia by 125 runs at Johannesburg.

2003-Cricket-World-Cup India skipper Sourav Ganguly (right) and Pakistan's Waqar Younis shake hands prior to their match in Pretoria, South Africa, at the 2003 World Cup | AP


India played against Pakistan in the Super Six stage of the seventh edition of ICC World Cup, at the Old Trafford Stadium in England on June 8. This match assumed more importance in the backdrop of the Kargil war between the two nations. India won the toss, batted first and put on 227/6 in 50 overs. In reply, Pakistan could manage only 180 as pacer Venkatesh Prasad ripped through their batting lineup with 5/27. He was awarded the Man of the Match. India failed to qualify for the next stage.


India co-hosted this World Cup with Sri Lanka and Pakistan. The two arch-rivals met at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on March 9. India called correctly and chose to bat first. Navjot Singh Sidhu, who opened alongside Sachin Tendulkar, made 93 and helped India to 287. The Men in Blue won by 39 runs as Pakistan could manage only 248/9 in 49 overs. They were fined an over for slow over rate. Sidhu was declared the Man of the Match. Venkatesh Prasad shone with the ball with 3/45, including the famous dismissal of Aamer Sohail. The left-handed opener slapped a ball from Prasad to the extra-cover boundary, and then gestured to the bowler to go and fetch it. He tried to repeat the shot next ball but was bowled. A fired-up Prasad gave his quite a send-off, showing him the way to the pavilion.

It was also former skipper Javed Miandad's last ODI.


The first-ever match between the two countries in a World Cup was one of the most anticipated games in the tournament's history. India and Pakistan faced each other at the Sydney Cricket Ground in Australia on March 4. India won the toss, chose to bat first and scored a modest 216/7. Pakistan was docked one over because of slow over rate. They were bowled out for 173 in 48.1 overs. It was one of the only two wins in that edition for India—they crashed out of the World Cup after losing to South Africa. Pakistan, despite the defeat, went on to win the cup under Imran Khan's captaincy. Sachin Tendulkar was given the Man of the Match award for his 54 runs. Mushtaq Ahmed was the pick of the Pakistani bowlers, taking 3/59.