Powered by
Sponsored by

Kerala: Tables turned at Nemom, BJP's Kummanam pushed to third place

V. Sivankutty is leading UDF's Muraleedharan by over 1,500 votes

nemom collage A collage showing, clockwise, K. Muraleedharan, Kummanam Rajasekharan and V. Sivankutty | Via Facebook

The fortunes of former Mizoram Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan is changing by the minute in Thiruvananthapuram's Nemom, the constituency known as the Gujarat of Kerala. Kummanam who was consistently leading, albeit by a margin of 500-1,500 votes in the constituency, is currently trailing at the third place. 

In the three-cornered contest, CPI(M)'s V. Sivankutty is leading UDF's K. Muraleedharan by over 1,500 votes as of 1:30pm. 

It is a close contest for the candidates in lone the constituency of the BJP in the current assembly. In the 2016 Assembly elections, O.Rajagopal opened the account for the BJP in Kerala by winning from this seat beating Sivankutty by a margin of 8,671 votes.

Kummanam had also contested the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Thiruvananthapuram against Congress MP Shashi Tharoor. 

📣 The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines