Powered by
Sponsored by

Imran Khan's PTI declared winner of Gilgit-Baltistan polls amid rigging claims

The 24 newly elected members are scheduled to take oath on Wednesday

imran reuters Pakistan PM Imran Khan | Reuters

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party of Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan has won the elections to the Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly. The elections had been keenly watched as it came after Imran's government announced Gilgit-Baltistan would be made a province. India had objected to granting of provincial status to Gilgit-Baltistan, emphasising it remained an "integral part" of India by virtue of the accession of Jammu and Kashmir in 1947.

The elections to the Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly were held on November 15. Elections were held to 24 of the 33 seats in the Assembly. The remaining 9 seats are reserved: Six for women and three for technocrats and professionals.

In the elections to 24 seats, Daily Times reported on Tuesday, "PTI emerged victorious on 10 seats, while seven were won by independent candidates. The JUI and Majlis Wahdatul Muslimeen (MWM) won one seat apiece. Six of the independent candidates have joined PTI after the election and the party already had a seat adjustment arrangement with the MWM."

In the reserved category, the PTI won two seats of technocrats and four women's seats, taking its total tally to 22 of the 33 seats.

The main opposition parties, the Pakistan People's Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), won three and two seats, respectively.

The 24 newly elected members are scheduled to take oath on Wednesday in the Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly.

Both the PPP and PML-N had alleged fraud in the Gilgit-Baltistan polls.

However, the Imran Khan government has rejected the claims. Federal Adviser on Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan Ali Amin Gandapur was quoted by Geo News as saying "free and fair elections were held in Gilgit-Baltistan". Gandapur declared, "People of Gilgit-Baltistan trust Imran Khan's leadership."

The PPP had held protests in the districts of Skardu, Ghanche, Kharmang and Shiger after its candidate lost the election in GBA-2 constituency. The party has announced it would resume protests on Wednesday.


📣 The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines