NDA 3.0: Do you know how many foreign leaders are being invited to PM Modi's swearing-in ceremony?

New Delhi's "Neighborhood First" policy will be on display during the ceremony

From Left: Sheikh Hasina of Bangladesh, PM Modi, Wavel Ramkalawan of Seychelles and Pravind Jugnauth of Mauritius (Official X handles, PTI) From Left: Sheikh Hasina of Bangladesh, PM Modi, Wavel Ramkalawan of Seychelles and Pravind Jugnauth of Mauritius (Official X handles, PTI)

Multiple leaders of India's ally nations are expected to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi over the weekend,  reports claimed on Thursday. Top leaders of India's neighbouring nations will be invited for the ceremony as a part of New Delhi's "Neighborhood First" policy, they added.

As the talks of cabinet berth distribution progress in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), here are the list of international leaders who are expected to attend PM Modi's swearing-in ceremony.

Mohamed Muizzu (Maldives): Maldivian officials in Male have confirmed that President Muizzu will be accompanied by his foreign minister and a couple of other leaders will be travelling to New Delhi to attend the ceremony. This will be Muizzu's first visit to India as the island nation's president.

The ties between India and the Maldives came under severe strain since November last year when Muizzu, known for his pro-China leanings, took charge as Maldivian president. Within hours of his oath, he had demanded the withdrawal of Indian military personnel from his country. 

Ranil Wickremesinghe (Sri Lanka): PM Modi invited the Sri Lankan President to the function over the phone, the media division of the President's Office said. Wickremesinghe has accepted the invite, the communique confirmed. 

"During the conversation, Prime Minister @narendramodi invited President Wickremesinghe to his swearing-in ceremony, which President @RW_UNP accepted," it said on X.

Sheikh Hasina (Bangladesh): The Indian PM sent a telephonic invite to his counterpart in Bangladesh, reports said. The invite was immediately accepted by Hasina, diplomatic sources were quoted as saying by news agency PTI.

Pravind Jugnauth (Mauritius): PM Modi invited the 62-year-old leader over the phone.

Pushpa Kamal Dahal (Nepal): The communist Prime Minister of Nepal was also invited over the phone by PM Modi.

Bhutanese Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay and President of Seychelles Wavel Ramkalawan were also invited to the swearing-in ceremony, PTI said.

Who all attended PM Modi's previous swearing-in ceremonies?

2014: The leaders of the regional grouping SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) countries attended Modi's first swearing ceremony when he took the reins as the prime minister after a massive electoral victory for BJP.

2019: Leaders of the BIMSTEC countries attended Modi's swearing-in ceremony, in 2019 when he became prime minister for the second consecutive term.

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp