IPL 2024 final | KKR's batting powerplay Live: Travis Head gone for golden duck, Starc gets Abhishek Sharma; as it happened

The dangerous Abhishek was out for 2 while Head was out for a golden duck

KKR's Mitchell Starc KKR's Mitchell Starc removed SRH opener Abhishek Sharma in his first over | AFP

IPL 2024 final: Sunrisers Hyderabad captain Pat Cummins won the toss at Chennai's MA Chidambaram Stadium and decided to bat first against Kolkata Knight Riders on Sunday. 

SRH openers Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma, arguably the most destructive opening pair of this edition of the tournament, was up against Mitchell Starc and Co. Here is how the batting powerplay turned out for the SRH after Australian Starc opened the bowling for Shreyas Iyer's side.

Here is how the first six overs of SRH innings turned out:

Over 1:

The first ball of IPL 2024 final was a dot ball. Abishek Sharma failed to make contact despite making a swing at Mitchell Starc's ball moving away from him.

Abhishek made contact for the first time in the third ball but was stopped in covers.

FIRST RUN! The first run of the IPL 2024 final came in the fourth ball of the first over when Abhishek Sharma complete a risky double after guiding one through the covers.

OUT! Mitchell Starc strikes in the fifth ball of his over. Abhishek Sharma (2 off 5) is castled as Starc breaks his defences.

Rahul Tripathi is off the mark right away.


Over 2:

Travis Head finally comes on strike to face the final ball of the over. 

OUT! Arora sends back the dangerous Australian for a golden duck. A short-pitched outswinger gets Head's edge and goes straight into the gloves of Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

Aiden Markram walks in.


Over 3:

FIRST BOUNDARY! Tripathy scores a boundary off Starc to take the team score to double digits.

Markram also manages a boundary. 


Over 4:

Vaibhav Arora starts the over with two consecutive wides.

Three wides and three singles are all SRH get from the brilliant over from Arora. 


Over 5:

Iyer hands Starc a third over.

OUT! Starc gets Rahul Tripathi in the second ball of the over. A leading edge while trying to go big results in Tripathi firing one right up, only to be taken by a vigilant Ramandeep Singh inside the 30-year-box. The fielder had all the time in the world to settle down under the ball which felt like being stuck in the air for a long time. Rahul Tripathi goes for 9 off 13.

Nitish Reddy is the new batter.

Just two runs from the penultimate batting powerplay over for SRH.


Over 6:

Shreyas Iyer decides not to introduce a third bowler in the PP. Vaibhav starts off with a wide before Markram punishes a short and wide delivery for four. Five runs come from the first ball of the final powerplay over.

Back-to-back boundaries from Markram; SRH finally trying to break free. 

SIX! Nitish Reddy scores the first six of the game with one ball left in the power play. A slower short-pitches delivery is dispatched easily by the right-hander.

Arora delivers the expensive over the powerplay as Hyderabad manages 17 from it.




Batters at the crease: Nitish Reddy (8*) and Aiden Markram (11*)

Bowling figures: Mitchell Starc (3.0-0-14-2-4.67)

Vaibhav Arora (3.0-0-24-1-8.00)


IPL 2024 final: KKR Playing XI: Shreyas Iyer (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy.

IPL 2024 final: SRH Playing XI: Pat Cummins (c), Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nitish Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen (w), Shahbaz Ahmed, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, T Natarajan.

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp