South Africa squad for India series out: Markram to lead ODI side, no Klaasen for Tests

Wicketkeeper batter Tristan Stubbs got maiden Test call up

Temba Bavuma South Africa cricket captain Temba Bavuma | Salil Bera

South Africa rested captain Temba Bavuma and pace bowler Kagiso Rabada for the white-ball leg of this month's home series against India. The duo have been included in the squad for the two Tests.

Pacers Gerald Coetzee, Marco Jansen and Lungi Ngidi have also been left out of the ODIs. In Bavuma's absence, Aiden Markram will lead the Proteas.

India's tour of South Africa includes three T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests. The T20I series is first in line and will begin on December 10 in Durban.

"Captain Temba Bavuma and Kagiso Rabada are amongst a group of players that have been omitted for the white-ball leg of the tour in order to play red-ball cricket as emphasis is placed on the Test series for which both will return," Cricket South Africa said on Monday.

ALSO READ | Indian squads for South Africa tour announced: KL Rahul to lead ODI team, Sanju Samson returns 

Wicketkeeper batter Tristan Stubbs, who has played 1 ODI and 16 T20Is, has been included in the Test side for the first time while Heinrich Klaasen has been left out, news agency PTI reported.

With valuable WTC points at stake and next year's T20 World Cup looming large, South Africa like India have named several new faces in their ODI squads, including uncapped duo of medium pacer Ottniel Baartman and all-rounder Mihlali Mpongwana.

Batter David Bedingham (Test) and pacer Nandre Burger (all three) -- have also earned maiden national call-ups.

Check out the full squad here:

South Africa T20I squad: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee (1st and 2nd T20Is), Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen (1st and 2nd T20Is), Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi (1st and 2nd T20Is), Andile Phehlukwayo , Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, and Lizaad Williams

South Africa ODI squad: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne and Lizaad Williams

South Africa Test squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), David Bedingham, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs and Kyle Verreynne.

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp