Indian squads for South Africa tour announced: KL Rahul to lead ODI team, Sanju Samson returns | Full list

Suryakumar Yadav will lead the T20I side

KL Rahul and Sanju Samson Sanju Samson (L) and K.L. Rahul | PTI

The BCCI's Men’s Selection Committee met in New Delhi on Thursday and announced Team India’s squad for the upcoming all-format tour of South Africa. The Indian team will participate in three T20Is, three ODIs and two Test matches.

Suryakumar Yadav, who is captaining the Indian team in the ongoing five-match T20I series against Australia, will continue in the role in the shortest format. Wicketkeeper batter KL Rahul was named the captain of the ODI squad. It was also decided to make fastbowler Jasprit Bumrah as Rohit Sharma's deputy in the two-Test series beginning on December 26 in Centurion. 

The three-match T20I series will begin on December 10, which will be followed by three ODIs starting December 17 in Johannesburg. 

ODI squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

Test squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna. 

T20I squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

Team India squad announcement: Other highlights:

  • KL Rahul will keep wickets in the Test series.
  • Both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli requested the Indian cricket board for a break from the white-ball leg of the tour.
  • B Sai Sudharshan and Rinku Singh have received maiden call-ups in the Indian ODI squad.
  • The selection committee meeting was held in the presence of head coach Rahul Dravid.

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp