Powered by
Sponsored by

IPL 2022: Dhoni, Kohli retained, Rashid, Rahul released; here’s full list, players’ salaries

Ace spinner Rashid Khan has only played for SRH till now in IPL

IPL 2019: CSK veterans ready to slog out against RCB in opener [File] M.S. Dhoni and Virat Kohli | PTI

With the deadline for finalising the player retention list expiring today, the eight existing franchises officially confirmed the players they retained. Though most of the retentions were foregone conclusions, the franchises managed to spring a few surprises.

Ace Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan was released by Hyderabad, while Mumbai Indians parted ways with star all-rounder Hardik Pandya. The teams can still buy back the player in the auction.

The IPL will be a 10-team league from next season, with an enhanced auction purse of Rs 90 crore. The existing teams were allowed to retain a maximum of four players, with not more than three Indians and not more than two overseas recruits.

Now that the eight teams have finalised their retention plans, new franchises - Lucknow and Ahmedabad - will pick a maximum of three players (maximum two Indians, maximum one overseas, maximum one uncapped Indian) between December 1 and 25 before the mega auction in January.

The franchises that retained four players will lose Rs 42 crore from their purse. Rs 33 crore will be deducted for those who retained three, Rs 24 crore for two players retained, and Rs 14 crore for one player.

Here’s the full list of players retained by the eight franchises:

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (Rs 16 crore), Jasprit Bumrah (Rs 12 crore), Kieron Pollard (Rs 6 crore), Suryakumar Yadav (Rs 8 crore)

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (Rs 15 crore), Glenn Maxwell (Rs 11 crore), Mohammed Siraj (Rs 7 crore)

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja (Rs 16 crore), M.S. Dhoni (Rs 12 crore), Ruturaj Gaikwad (Rs 6 core), Moeen Ali (Rs 8 crore)

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine (Rs 6 crore), Andre Russell (Rs 12 crore), Varun Chakravarthy (Rs 8 crore), Venkatesh Iyer (Rs 8 crore)

SunRisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (Rs 14 crore), Abdul Samad (Rs 4 crore), Umran Malik (Rs 4 crore)

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (Rs 16 crore), Prithvi Shaw (Rs 7.5 crore), Axar Patel (Rs 9 crore), Anrich Nortje (Rs 6.5 crore)

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (Rs 14 crore), Jos Buttler (Rs 10 crore), Yashasvi Jaiswal (Rs 4 crore)

Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal (Rs 12 crore), Arshdeep Singh (Rs 4 crore)


📣 The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines