Prez Murmu confers Bharat Ratna on former PMs Narasimha Rao, Charan Singh, 2 others posthumously

The government announced five Bharat Ratna awards this year

M.S. Swaminathan  Bharat Ratna President Droupadi Murmu confers Bharat Ratna, the country's highest civilian honour on agriculture scientist M.S. Swaminathan (posthumously) during a ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhawan | PTI

President Droupadi Murmu on Saturday conferred Bharat Ratna, the country's highest civilian honour, on four personalities posthumously.

Former prime ministers P.V. Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, agriculture scientist M.S. Swaminathan and two-time former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur, were conferred with Bharat Ratna posthumously at a ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. The awards to Rao, Singh, Thakur and Swaminathan were received by their kin.

P.V. Prabhakar Rao, son of former prime minister Rao, received the award conferred on his father from the president. Jayant Chaudhary, Singh's grandson and the president of the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), accepted the honour from Murmu.

Swaminathan's daughter Nitya Rao and Thakur's son Ram Nath Thakur received the award from the president.

Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and other dignitaries were present at the ceremony. The government announced five Bharat Ratna awards this year, including one to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stalwart and former deputy prime minister L.K. Advani.

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp