Parliament opening: Centre to mint Rs 75 coin to mark the event; SC to hear PIL today

The coin, made of quaternary alloy, will bear the image of the new Parliament complex

[File] Newly inaugurated 'National Emblem' installed on the roof of the new parliament building | AFP [File] Newly inaugurated 'National Emblem' installed on the roof of the new parliament building | AFP

The Centre has decided to mint a special ₹75 coin to mark the inauguration of the new Parliament building. The coin, made of quaternary alloy, will bear the image of the new Parliament complex.

A notification issued by the Ministry of Finance on Thursday said the commemorative coin made of 50 per cent silver, 40 per cent copper, 5 per cent nickel, and 5 per cent zinc, will be circular. It will have a diameter of 44 millimetres and bear 200 serrations along its edges. 

While the obverse side of the coin will feature the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar in the centre, with the inscription "Satyameva Jayate" and the word "Bharat" in Devnagri script, the reverse side, the coin will showcase an image of the Parliament Complex.

On the right periphery of the obverse side will be the marking "India." The coin will also bear the Indian Rupee symbol "₹" and the denomination "75" in international numerals below the Lion Capitol, the notification added.

On the obverse side, the upper periphery will feature the inscription "Sansad Bhavan" in the Devnagari script. The lower periphery will display "PARLIAMENT COMPLEX" in English. 

The coin, weighing 35 grams, will also have the year "2023" inscribed on it in international numerals below the image of the Parliament Complex. 

Meanwhile, the row over the Parliament inauguration continues to rage after 19 parties, including the Congress, Left, TMC, SP and AAP, announced the boycott of the event, saying they find no value in a new building when the "soul of democracy has been sucked out". 

However, much to the relief of the BJP, seven non-NDA parties will attend the ceremony besides the 18 members of the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA). The BSP, Shiromani Akali Dal, Janata Dal (Secular), Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), YSR Congress, BJD and TDP are the seven non-NDA parties expected to be present at the event.

SC to consider PIL today

The Supreme Court will hear on Friday the Public Interest Litigation (PIL) seeking a direction that the new Parliament building should be inaugurated by the President of India Droupadi Murmu instead of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. 

The PIL filed by advocate Jaya Sukin said the Lok Sabha Secretariat violated the Constitution by not inviting the President for the inauguration.

"The Prime Minister is appointed by the President and other ministers are appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister. The President of India is authorised to appoint constitutional functionaries such as Governors, Judges of both the Supreme Court and high court, Comptroller and Auditor General of India, chairman and manager of the Union Public Service Commissioner, Chief Election Commissioner, Financial Commissioner, and other Election commissioners," the PIL said.

The Lok Sabha Secretariat, Union Ministry of Home Affairs, and Ministry of Law and Justice are parties in the case.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla will dedicate the new Parliament building to the nation on May 28.

📣 The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines