Golden Globes 2022: The Power of the Dog wins big; see full list of winners

Will Smith named best actor in a drama, Nicole Kidman best actress

jane-campion-globes-ap Director Jane Campion appears at the screening of 'The Power of the Dog' | AP

The Hollywood awards season has officially begun with the Golden Globes on Monday. However, the ceremony was held behind closed doors amid the spike in COVID-19 cases.

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA), which consists of US-based international journalists, has also been at the centre of criticism after an investigative report by The Los Angeles Times last year revealed lack of representation of Black and female members in its ranks, accusations of self-dealing and other issues, leading to severe criticism from Hollywood stars to production companies.

This year's event took place at the Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles, with no stars or audience. Results were announced via social media.

Netflix drama The Power Of The Dog took home two of the biggest awards—Best Film (Drama) and Jane Campion won the Best Director. Will Smith was named best actor in a drama for King Richard, while Nicole Kidman won best actress in a drama for playing Lucille Ball in Being the Ricardos.

Stephen Spielberg's West Side Story won the most awards in the musical/comedy categories— best picture, best actress for Rachel Zegler and best supporting actress for Ariana DeBose.

Veteran South Korean actor O Yeong-su won the Golden Globe in the best supporting actor television category for his performance in the hugely popular Netflix series Squid Game.

HBO’s hit drama Succession picked up awards for best drama, best actor for Jeremy Strong and best supporting actress for Sarah Snook .

Full list of winners:


Best Film – Drama: The Power Of The Dog

Best Film - Musical/Comedy:West Side Story

Best Director: Jane Campion (The Power Of The Dog

Best Actress - Drama: Nicole Kidman (Being The Ricardos)

Best Actor - Drama: Will Smith (King Richard)

Best Actress - Musical/Comedy: Rachel Zegler (West Side Story)

Best Actor - Musical/Comedy: Andrew Garfield (tick, tick...BOOM!)

Best Supporting Actress: Ariana DeBose (West Side Story)

Best Supporting Actor: Kodi Smit-McPhee (The Power Of The Dog)

Best Screenplay: Kenneth Branagh (Belfast)

Best Animated Feature: Encanto

Best Original Score: Hans Zimmer

Best Original Song: No Time To Die from No Time To Die by Billie Eilish, Finneas O'Connell


Best TV Series – Drama: Succession

Best TV Series – Musical/Comedy: Hacks

Best Miniseries or TV Film: The Underground Railroad

Best Actress - Drama: Michaela Jae (Mj) Rodriguez (Pose)

Best Actor - Drama: Jeremy Strong (Succession)

Best Actress - Musical/Comedy: Jean Smart (Hacks)

Best Actor - Musical/Comedy: Jason Sudeikis (Ted Lasso)

Best Supporting Actress: Sarah Snook (Succession)

Best Supporting Actor: O Yeong-su (Squid Game)

Best Actress in a Miniseries or TV Film: Kate Winslet (Mare Of Easttown)

Best Actor in a Miniseries or TV Film: Michael Keaton (Dopesick)