SRH vs Mumbai Indians run fest: Did Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma or Heinrich Klaasen smashed the fastest IPL fifty?

Abhishek Sharma now holds the record of having scored the fastest fifty fopr SRH

Sunrisers Hyderabad's Travis Head (R) celebrates his fifty runs with Abhishek Sharma Sunrisers Hyderabad's Travis Head (R) celebrates his fifty runs with Abhishek Sharma | AP

Records tumbled left-right and centre as Sunrisers Hyderabad smashed 277 for three, the highest total in IPL history, to leave Mumbai Indians shell-shocked here on Wednesday. 

Travis Head (62 off 24) and Abhishek Sharma (63 off 23) and Heinrich Klaasen (80 not out off 34 balls)  attacked the Mumbai Indians brutally, before Hardik Pandya and co. padded up to start their fireworks. Although the Mumbai top-order was menacing, only Tilak Varma managed to go past the half-century mark at Hyderabad.

ALSO READ | Did Kwena Maphaka just bowl IPL's most expensive spell?

Travis Head broke David Warner's record of the fastest fifty by an SRH batter with an 18-ball half-century before Sharma surpassed Head's feat 20 balls later by reaching the milestone in 16 balls.

But their knocks were not good enough to make it to the top-five of the fastest half-centuries in IPL history. The record for the fastest IPL fifty is held by young Yashasvi Jaiswal, who crossed the 50-run mark in just 13 balls for Rajasthan Royals against Kolkata Knight Riders last season.

Here are the five fastest fifties in the history of IPL:

1. Yashasvi Jaiswal (13 balls): Rajasthan Royals vs Kolkata Knight Riders (2023)

2. Pat Cummins (14 balls): Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians (2022)

3. KL Rahul (14 balls): Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils (2018)

4. Sunil Narine (15 balls): Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (2017)

5. Yusuf Pathan (15 balls): Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (2014)

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp