Ee Sala Cup Namdu! RCB beat Delhi Capitals to lift WPL 2024

A splendid bowling performance helped RCB to gain command of the final

RCB women with WPL 2024 trophy RCB with WPL 2024 trophy | Twitter

Royal Challengers Bangalore were crowned the champions of the second edition of the Women's Premier League on Sunday. The Smriti Mandhana-led team lifted the title with an eight-wicket victory over Delhi Capitals in the final held at the Arun Jaitley Stadium.

Batting first, Delhi Capitals were bowled out for 113 in 18.3 overs after a brilliant start. RCB chased down the target with three balls to spare, much to the disappointment of the weekend crowd that turned out to support the home team. Ellyse Perry (55 off 37) and Rich Ghosh (17 off 14) were in the middle as the Bengaluru-based franchise finally got its hand on a maiden trophy.

With Shafali Verma (44 off 27 balls) going great guns, DC were cruising at 64 for no loss in 43 balls before they committed harakiri, losing 10 wickets for just 49 runs.

Spinners Shreyanka Patil (4/12) and Sophie Molineux (3/20) helped RCB stage a remarkable recovery after Shafali's exploits at the top of the order.

Brief scores: Delhi Capitals: 113 all out in 18.3 overs (Shafali Verma 44; Shreyanka Patil 4/12, Sophie Molineux 3/20) Royal Challengers Bangalore: 115 for two in 19.3 overs (Smriti Mandhana 31, Sophie Devine 32, Ellyse Perry 35 not out).

- With PTI inputs

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp