ODI World Cup 2023 final: Australia win toss, elect to bowl first against India

It was Indian skipper Rohit Sharma who flipped the coin

australia-cummins-ap Indian captain Rohit Sharma tosses the coin up in the air as Australia's captain Pat Cummins | AP

ICC ODI World Cup final LIVE: Australia won the toss and elected to bowl first against India at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday. Both sides have named unchanged eleven for the final.

It was Indian skipper Rohit Sharma who flipped the coin.

Australia captain Pat Cummins said his team wanted to bowl during the day. With the due factor coming into the picture, it will be better to bat later in the day, the seam bowler said. 

Rohit Sharma said he would have preferred to bat first anyway. "I would've batted first, big game and runs on the board," the opener said." It's the biggest occasion, in terms of cricketing events. We got to stay nice and calm. It's a dream come true to captain the team in the final," he said.

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas lyer, KL Rahul (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

Australia Playing XI: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (WK), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (C), Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp