Northeast Lok Sabha poll results: Congress makes big gains in Assam, Manipur

BJP is leading in 8 seats in Assam, while Congress in 4 seats

Northeast Lok Sabha election results Congress leader Rahul Gandhi during the 'Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra', at Sekmai village in Imphal West district, Manipur | PTI

The battle in eight northeastern states is underway as the counting progresses in the 2024 Lok Saba elections. Assam, one of the important states with the most number of Lok Sabha seats, BJP seeks a majority for the third term. As per the ECI updates at 3 pm, BJP is leading in 8 seats, while Congress in 4 seats. 

Congress leaders in Assam claim a "new trend" in the country. Congress' deputy leader Gaurav Gogoi is leading in the Jorhat constituency by over 80,000 votes against his rival BJP's Topon Kumar Gogoi. 

LIVE UPDATES | Lok Sabha Election Results 2024 LIVE: BJP gains in Kerala and Odisha, loses ground in UP, Bengal

"Not just in Assam, even in Rajasthan or Uttar Pradesh, the opposition has proved itself. This is an indication of a new trend in the country. There was no BJP wave, else they would have got 400 seats," Gaurav Gogoi told reporters at Sonari under Jorhat constituency.

Also, Congress candidate in Dhubri constituency Rakibul Hussain is leading by over 3 lakh votes against incumbent MP Badruddin Ajmal of AIUDF.

Meanwhile, BJP's Kamakhya Prasad Tasa was leading over his nearest rival Roselina Tirkey of the Congress by more than 55,000 votes in Kaziranga constituency.

ALSO READ | Lok Sabha polls: Seats that may see unexpected results in West Bengal as BJP, TMC battle it out

Assam Excise, Transport and Fisheries Minister Parimal Suklabaidya is leading in Assam's prestigious Silchar (SC) constituency by over 9,000 votes over his nearest Congress rival Surya Kanta Sarkar. 

Manipur: Congress in leading in the two seats in the state. Congress candidate Alfred Kanngam S. Arthur from the Outer Manipur constituency is leading by a margin of over 49,000 votes over his nearest rival Naga People’s Front Kachui Timothy Zimik. Arthur has bagged 2,93,859 votes, while Singh has bagged 2,44,276 votes so far.

Nagaland: Congress candidate S. Supongmeren Jamir extended his lead over his nearest rival Chumben Murry of the NDPP to over 48,000 votes in the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland, according to the Election Commission.

ALSO READ | Karnataka poll results: Prajwal Revanna set to retain Hassan seat despite sexual abuse charges?

Jamir polled 3,79,093 votes, Murry 3,30,850 and Independent candidate Hayithung Tungoe Lotha 5,695 votes.

Sikkim: Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) candidate Indra Hang Subba extended his lead to 76,548 votes over his nearest rival Bharat Basnett of Citizen Action Party-Sikkim in the lone Lok Sabha seat. 

Arunachal Pradesh: BJP is leading in the two seats. BJP candidate Kiren Rijiju is leading from the Arunachal West seat by a margin of over 96,000 votes. He has bagged over 196415 votes and Tuki has secured 100100 votes so far.

Meghalaya: The Congress was leading in the Tura seat in Meghalaya on Tuesday, while the Voice of the People's Party (VPP) was ahead in the Shillong constituency, according to the Election Commission.

Congress candidate Saleng Sangma, sister of CM Conrad K. Sangma was leading in the Tura seat over NPP MP Agatha Sangma, by 1,09,806 votes.

Meanwhile, in the Shillong seat VPP candidate Ricky A.J. Syngkon was ahead over three-term Congress MP Vincent H Pala by 1,90,699 votes. 

Tripura: The BJP was leading in Tripura's two Lok Sabha seats as the counting of votes was underway. BJP's Biplab Kumar Deb was ahead of his nearest rival Asish Kumar Saha in Tripura West parliamentary seat by 3,19,487 votes.

In the Tripura East Lok Sabha seat, BJP candidate Kriti Devi Debbarman was leading by 2,92,164 votes over her nearest rival Rajendra Reang of the CPI(M).

Mizoram: Ruling ZPM candidate Richard Vanlalhmangaiha was leading in the lone Lok Sabha seat in Mizoram by 57,897 votes over his nearest rival K. Vanlalvena of the MNF, according to trends available.

(With PTI inputs)

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp