Assembly polls: BJP govt wins consecutive third term in Arunachal

In Arunachal Pradesh, Pema Khandu is likely to continue as CM

Pema Khandu Arunachal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu


The Pema Khandu-led Bharatiya Janata Party government won a consecutive third term in Arunachal Pradesh, winning 37 out of 50 seats which went to polls in the state.

In the elections held to the 60-seat Arunachal Pradesh assembly, the BJP won the election unopposed to 10 seats, including CM Khandu. The ruling party has a majority of 46 seats in the Assembly. The Congress won only in one seat – Bameng. Congress candidate Kumar Waii won against BJP’s Doba Lamnio by a margin of 635 votes.

While three independents won in the election, the National People's Party won five seats, the People's Party of Arunachal won two and the Nationalist Congress Party in three seats.

Reacting on winning the third consecutive term, BJP National President J.P. Nadda said, “Grateful to the people of Arunachal Pradesh for placing their trust in @BJP4India and ensuring a historic win in the state. This remarkable victory is a reflection of their desire for a prosperous and developed Arunachal Pradesh.” Nadda added the party is committed to fulfilling the vision of 'Viksit Bharat' and 'Viksit Arunachal' under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The BJP won 41 seats in the 2019 elections.

“The relentless dedication of our committed Karyakartas, CM Shri@PemaKhanduBJP, and BJP State President Shri @BiyuramWahgeBJPhas made this victory historic,” he added.

Thanking the people, Modi tweeted, “The people of this wonderful state have given an unequivocal mandate to politics of development. My gratitude to them for reposing their faith in @BJP4Arunachalyet again.”

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp