BJP seals alliance with TDP, Jana Sena in Andhra; seat-sharing talks to begin soon

A win-win situation for both country and state, says Naidu

[FILE] Prime Minister Narendra Modi and TDP president | PTI [FILE] Prime Minister Narendra Modi and TDP president | PTI

The Bharatiya Janata Party has entered into an alliance with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Jana Sena for the upcoming Lok Sabha and Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections.

The three parties sealed their alliance following a second round of talks involving their senior leaders on Saturday.

“Under the dynamic and visionary leadership of Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi Ji, the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Telugu Desam Party and the Jana Sena Party as being committed for the progress of the country and the upliftment of the state and people of Andhra Pradesh, have decided to contest the ensuing Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha elections together in Andhra Pradesh,” said a joint statement issued by BJP president J.P. Nadda, TDP supremo Chandrababu Naidu and JSP leader Pawan Kalyan.

“The coming together of the three parties will help in reaching the aspirations of the people of Andhra Pradesh,” it said, adding that the modalities of seat-sharing will be deliberated in 1-2 days.

Earlier, confirming the tie-up, Naidu exuded confidence that the alliance would sweep the polls in Andhra Pradesh. "Andhra Pradesh has been destroyed badly. The BJP and the TDP coming together is a win-win situation for the country and the state," he told reporters.

The joint statement recalled that both the BJP and the TDP have a very old relationship. “TDP joined the NDA in 1996 and has worked together successfully in Atal Ji’s and Narendra Modi Ji's governments. In 2014, the TDP and the BJP fought the Lok Sabha election and assembly election together,” it said.

The statement also noted that the Jana Sena had supported the NDA in the 2014 general elections.

Meanwhle, quoting sources, PTI reported that the BJP and the Jana Sena may together contest around eight Lok Sabha and 30 Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh. The TDP will contest the remaining 17 Lok Sabha and 145 Assembly seats, it said.

The BJP may contest around six Lok Sabha and an equal number of Assembly seats in the state.

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp