Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Results 2024: How PM Modi's Union Ministers seeking rerun from state faring?

Rajnath Singh and Smriti Irani are among Union Ministers fighting from UP

Smriti Irani, Rajnath Singh and Anupriya Patel are among the Union Ministers in fray from Uttar Prades Smriti Irani, Rajnath Singh and Anupriya Patel are among the Union Ministers in fray from Uttar Pradesh | X

Apart from Prime Minister Narendra Modi, a band of Union Ministers including Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Minister of Women and Child Development Smriti Irani are seeking a mandate from the electorally crucial state. However, the INDIA bloc's spirited fightback in the state under Samajwadi Party and Akhilesh Yadav, cost many of these NDA leaders dearly as they tasted defeat. Among those who lost were Smriti Irani, who was humbled by Koshori Lal in Amethi where whe managed to win against Rahul Gandhi in 2019.

ALSO READ | Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Results 2024: How India's richest candidates perform in polls?

How are all 10 Union Ministers in the fray from Uttar Pradesh faring as things stand? Find out here:

Note: This copy was last updated at 9:40 PM as per ECI website; subject to changes

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh: WON against Samajwadi Party's Ravidas Mehrotra from Lucknow by 1,35,159 votes. Rajnath polled a total of 6,12,709 votes from the capital of UP.

MoS Finance Pankaj Chaudhary: WON against Samajwadi Party nominee Virendra Chaudhary from from Maharajganj by 35,451 votes. Chaudhary polled 5,91,310  votes.

MoS Law and Justice SP Singh Baghel: WON from Agra by a margin of 2,71,294 votes against Samajwadi Party's Suresh Singh Kardam. Baghel polled 5,99,397 votes in all.

MoS Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti: LOST to Samajwadi Party's Naresh Chandra Uttam Patel from Fatehpur by 33,199 votes. 

LIVE UPDATES | Lok Sabha Election Results 2024 LIVE: BJP gains in Kerala and Odisha, loses ground in UP, Bengal

Minister of Women and Child Development Smriti Irani: LOST Amethi seat to Samajwadi Party's Kishori Lal by 1,67,196 votes. While Irani polled 3,72,032 votes, the Gandhi family loyalist Lal got 5,39,228.

Minister of Heavy Industries Mahendra Nath Pandey: LOST Chandauli by 21,565 votes to Samajwadi Party's Birendra Singh. 

Sanjeev Kumar Balyan: LOST Muzaffarnagar seat to Samajwadi Party's Harendra Singh Malik by 24,672 votes.

MOS Commerce and Industry Anupriya Patel: WON against Samajwadi Party's Ramesh Chand Bind from Mirzapur seat by 37,810 votes. The Apna Dal leader received 4,71,631 votes in total.

MoS Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma: LOST to Samajwadi Party's Narayan Das Ahirwar from Jalaun by 53,898 votes.

Minister of Urban Development Kaushal Kishore: LOST by a margin of 70,292 votes against Samajwadi Party's RK Chaudhary from Mohanlalganj.

MoS Home Affairs Ajay Kumar Mishra Teni: LOST by a margin of 34,329 votes Samajwadi Party's Utkarsh Verma 'Madhur' from Lakhimpur Kheri. 

Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Polls 2024 Results: Latest updates

By the evening, the SP had won or established leads on 37 of the 44 parliamentary seats in UP. The BJP, which swept the last Lok Sabha polls in UP in 2019 by winning 62 seats on its own, was down to 33. The results were still coming in. The SP's performance supplemented by leads on six seats by INDIA bloc partner Congress turned out to be a major factor that contained the BJP-led NDA this time.

ALSO READ | Andhra Assembly Results 2024: Jagan's YSCRP staring at humiliating defeat

The BJP had disparagingly referred to the alliance between Congress leader Rahul Gandhi and the SP president as Do Ladkon Ki Jodi, but the UP boys managed to best the NDA in Uttar Pradesh, the state which sends the largest number of MPs to Parliament.

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp