Powered by
Sponsored by

NDA set to form government in Puducherry

The alliance has bagged 12 seats so far


The National Democratic Alliance is set to form government in Puducherry where the Bharatiya Janata Party is in alliance with the NR Congress. As per the latest trends, the NR Congress won eight seats and the BJP has bagged four, while the Congress-led Secular Democratic Alliance (SDA) emerged victorious in three constituencies.

A. Namassivayam of BJP emerged victorious from Mannadipet constituency after defeating his DMK rival A Krishnan.


U. Lakshmikandhan of AINRC wrested the Embalam (reserved) segment from Congress by defeating its candidate and former Welfare Minister M Kandasamy.


BJP nominee A. John Kumar was declared elected from Kamaraj Nagar where he defeated his immediate Congress rival and former Industries Minister M O H F Shah Jahan.


M. Vaithianathan of Congress defeated BJP's V Saminathan, who is president of Puducherry unit of the party, by a margin of 5,652 votes in the Lawspet constituency.


The DMK wrested the Uppalam constituency here from the AIADMK in the April 6 poll to the territorial Assembly.


DMK nominee Annibal Kennedy defeated AIADMK's A Anbalagam in Uppalam.

(With PTI inputs)

📣 The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines