Odisha assembly polls: Naveen Patnaik's BJD sets strong lead

34-Naveen-Patnaik-new Naveen Patnaik | Arvind Jain

Counting of votes for assembly elections to 146 seats in Odisha began on Thursday. According to the Election Commission trends at 12:30pm, the incumbent Biju Janata Dal, led by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, is leading in 94 seats. The BJP is leading in 28 seats.

According to the numbers, Congress is leading in only 12 seats in the state. In 2014 assembly polls, the Congress had won 16 seats, and the BJP came third with 10 seats. This time, however, it looks like the BJP will emerge as the main opposition party in the state.

Election Results 2019 LIVE updates: BJP leads in 295 seats

Naveen Patnaik, who has been chief minister of the state four times, is eyeing another term. Speaking to THE WEEK in an exclusive interview, he had said development, progress and welfare of the people will be his priority during the fifth term. "All throughout, we have kept people at the forefront of our governance. That conveys it all. My only vested interest is the people of Odisha," he said.