Powered by

BCCI names new senior selection committee

Chetan Sharma has been retained as chairman

chetan-sharma-twitter (File) Chetan Sharma | via Twitter

Chetan Sharma was on Saturday reappointed as the chairman of the senior selection committee, exactly two months after his entire panel was disbanded by the BCCI post the Indian team's semifinal exit in the T20 World Cup.

Sharma's new team would have entirely new faces, with junior chairman of selectors S. Sharath of South Zone being promoted. The others in the panel are former seamer Subroto Banerjee from East Zone, Salil Ankola from West Zone and Test opener Shiv Sunder Das from the Central zone.

Das qualified from Central for being a former Vidarbha player after he finished playing for Odisha.

His colleague, Harvinder Singh, also reapplied but wasn't considered after the interview.

"The board received around 600 applications following its advertisement for the five posts issued on its official website on 18th November 2022," BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a release.

"Upon due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews. Based on the interviews, the committee has recommended the following candidates for the senior men's national selection committee," he said.

The Men in Blue were humiliated by 10 wickets by England in the semifinal in Adelaide on November 10. It was India's fifth knockout loss in the last six World Cups.

India last won an ICC tournament in 2013 when they beat England to claim the Champions Trophy.

During Sharma’s tenure, India had also failed to reach knockout stage in the 2021 edition of T20 World Cup and lost the World Test Championships final.


📣 The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines