Powered by
Sponsored by

First Test: India opt to bat against New Zealand, lose Mayank early

Shreyas Iyer makes his Test debut for India

India New Zealand Cricket New Zealand's Kyle Jamieson celebrates the wicket of India's Mayank Agarwal on Day 1 of the 1st Test at Kanpur | AP

India won the toss and opted to bat against New Zealand in the first Test in Kanpur.

Kyle Jamieson picked up the wicket of young opener Mayank Agarwal in just the eighth over. Mayank had hit two fours before the tall fast bowler dismissed him on 13.

Shreyas Iyer makes his Test debut for India and Rachin Ravindra for New Zealand.

Both teams have opted to go for three spinners and two fast bowlers, with the Indian-born Ajaz Patel coming into the bowling attack early for New Zealand.

This is Rahul Dravid's first Test as head coach of the Indian team, and Ajinkya Rahane is the stand-in skipper in the absence of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma.

Latest score: India 36/1 (Gill 16*, Pujara 5*, Jamieson 1/12)


New Zealand: Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, William Somerville.

India: Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

- With inputs from PTI

📣 The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines