Powered by
Sponsored by

IPL 2021 first-leg recap: Team standings, players missing and replacements

IPL 2021 is all set to resume on September 19 in the UAE


The IPL 2021 is all set to resume on September 19 in the UAE, months after COVID-19 cases in franchises because of bio-bubble breach forced the BCCI to suspend the tournament.

The IPL 2021, which was to be held between April 9 and May 2, will now be completed between September 19 and October 15. What makes the second leg interesting is that the T20 World Cup starts just a day after the IPL final.

Here’s a quick recap of the first leg of the tournament.

Team standings

Twenty-nine matches were held in IPL 2021 before the tournament was suspended. Among the eight teams, Delhi Capitals were at the top, followed by Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

1.       Delhi Capitals (12 points)

2.     Chennai Super Kings (10)

3.      Royal Challengers Bangalore (10)

4.     Mumbai Indians (8)

5.     Rajasthan Royals (6)

6.     Punjab Kings (6)

7.     Kolkata Knight Riders (4)

8.     Sunrisers Hyderabad (2)

Players who will be missing, and their replacements


Jos Buttler

The England wicket-keeper batsman will miss the second leg of the IPL because of the birth of his second child. RR have signed West Indian Evin Lewis as Buttler’s replacement.

Jofra Archer

Archer will miss the tournament because of an elbow injury which will keep him away from action for the rest of the year. New Zealand wicketkeeper-batsman Glenn Phillips will replace him.

Ben Stokes

Stokes has taken a temporary break from cricket because of mental health reasons. He will be replaced by West Indian Oshane Thomas.

Andrew Tye

Tye pulled out due to personal reasons. He will be replaced by South African spinner Tabraiz Shamsi.


Adam Zampa

The leg-spinner didn’t feature in any of the matches in the first leg. He is unavailable and will be replaced by Sri Lankan spinner Wanindu Hasaranga.

Daniel Sams

The Australian left-arm pacer was picked in the IPL 2020 as replacement for an injured Jason Roy. However, he will miss the remainder of the tournament and will be replaced by Sri Lankan Dushmantha Chameera.

Kane Richardson

The Australian pacer did not play any matches in the first leg, and will now miss the tournament due to personal reasons. His replacement is George Garton.

Finn Allen and Washington Sundar

Allen will be replaced by Singaporean all-rounder Tim David and Sundar by Bengal bowler Akash Deep.


Riley Meredith and Jhye Richardson

Meredith will miss the rest of the tournament due to a side strain and has been replaced by Australian pacer Nathan Ellis. Richardson is set to miss the IPL due to personal reasons, and will be replaced by England off-spinner Adil Rashid.


Pat Cummins

The Australian pacer will miss the second leg for personal reasons. He will be replaced by veteran New Zealand pacer Tim Southee.


Scott Kuggeleign

The New Zealand pacer will miss the tournament due to national commitments. His replacement is yet to be announced.


📣 The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines