Pakistan: Counting ends in over half the seats, PTI-backed candidates take lead

PTI claims to have secured two-third majority in Punjab

Pakistan Election Result delay Supporters of imprisoned Pakistan's Former PM Imran Khan's party block a road as a protest against the delaying result of parliamentary election by Pakistan Election Commission, in Lahore, Pakistan | AP

Amid rigging allegations, violence and internet shutdown, Pakistan poll results gets further delayed on Friday. Former Prime Minister Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) won 55 out of the 139 National Assembly results announced by the election commission so far.

PTI is followed by Nawaz Sharif's Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari's Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP). The PML-N has bagged 43 seats while PPP has won 35 (as reported by 7:00 pm IST)

A party must get 133 seats out of 265 in the National Assembly to form the government. Due to the death of a candidate, election to one seat was postponed.

According to the ECP, PTI leader Gohar Ali Khan won NA-10 in the Buner area of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa with 110,023 votes. He defeated Awami National Party candidate Abdul Rauf with 30,302 votes. PTI's former speaker National Assembly Asad Qaisar also won.

The prominent losers in the elections were PTI's former leader and defence minister Pervaiz Khattak.

In the Punjab Assembly, PML-N has won 39 seats, independent candidates have won 33 seats and Muslim League-Q has won two seats.

PTI claimed that it won the elections while alleging that results were being delayed to rig the outcome.

PTI in a statement on X stated that it won more than 150 NA seats out of 265 open for contest as per the data received in Form 45s, which are the primary source of election results at the lowest level and show the votes for each candidate at each polling station.

Copies of these forms have been collected by PTI candidates' polling agents, which show them winning by a large majority, it stated.

PTI has won well over 150 National Assembly seats & is in a solid position to form government in Federal, Punjab & KP (Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa), with a clear majority, said reports.

In another statement, PTI alleged that its mandate was being stolen. Let the world know that the clear and overwhelming mandate of the people of Pakistan is being stolen, it stated.

Meanwhile, the four Sharif family members of the PML-N party have managed to win their Assembly seats from their stronghold Lahore in the concluded general elections.

PML-N supremo and former premier Nawaz Sharif, 74, won from NA-130 by securing over 172,000 votes against PTI's Dr Yasmin Rashid who got over 113,000.

Nawaz's daughter Maryam Nawaz, 50, won from NA-119 securing over 83,000 votes against PTI Farooq Shahzad who bagged over 68,000. While his nephew Hamza Shehbaz, 49, won from NA-118 by securing over 105,000 votes against PTI's Aliya Hamza who bagged over 100,000.

Nawaz's younger brother and former PM Shehbaz Sharif, 72, won from NA-123 bagging 63,000 votes against PTI's Afzaal Phaat who had over 48,000 votes.

However, PML-N supremo Sharif faced a significant defeat against independent candidate Shahzada Gastasap in the NA-15 Mansehra constituency.

PPP chief Bilawal Bhutto Zardari lost the Lahore National Assembly seat NA-127 to PML-N's Atta Tarar.Bilawal could manage to get only 15,000 votes. PPP alleged that the Bilawal’s voted were changed in Lahore.

(With PTI inputs)


Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp