Lok Sabha polls: SP, Congress finalised seat-sharing deal in UP?

Congress likely to contest in 17 seats


The opposition INDIA bloc has got a shot in the arm after Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav dropped strong hints that his party has finalised a seat-sharing deal with the Congress for the Lok Sabha elections, in Uttar Pradesh.

“Yes, it (alliance) will happen in Uttar Pradesh. It will be announced soon," Akhilesh told reporters in Moradabad on Wednesday when he was asked about a tie-up with the Congress in the state. 

According to sources, the SP will contest in 62 seat, allotting 17 for the Congress. A formal announcement is likely later in the day.

Sources said the grand old party is likely to contest in Rae Bareli, Amethi, Kanpur, Fatehpur Sikri, Bansgaon, Saharanpur, Prayagraj, Varanasi, Maharajganj, Amroha, Jhansi, Bulanshehr, Ghaziabad, Mathura, Sitapur, Barabanki and Dewariya.

The development comes days after Akhilesh said he would join Congress leader Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra only if its seat-sharing proposal for the Lok Sabha polls is accepted. 

The SP chief had not joined the yatra in Raebareli on Tuesday.

On Monday, the SP had said it offered 17 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh to the Congress.

With inputs from Puja Awathi

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp