Mayawati, Akhilesh announce seat sharing plans: SP to fight 37, BSP 38

Mayawati BSP chief Mayawati and SP national head Akhilesh Yadav at their joint press conference in Lucknow on Saturday | Pawan Kumar

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati and Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav on Thursday announced the seat sharing plans for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls 2019.

They said that SP will contest 37 seats while BSP will fight from 38 seats. The duo made it clear that the Congress will not be part of the alliance, though they have not announced any contenders for the Congress strongholds, Amethi and Rae Bareli.

The leaders had announced their alliance last month and had said that the parties will contest from 38 constituencies each. 

Names of the planned candidates for 75 of the 80 seats were released on Thursday in a statement signed by both the leaders.

The 37 seats in the SP quota include Kairana, Moradabad, Sambhal, Rampur, Mainpuri, Firozabad, Badaun, Bareilly, Lucknow, Etawah, Kanpur, Kannauj, Jhansi, Banda, Allahabad, Kaushambi, Phulpur, Faizabad, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Azamgarh, Varanasi and Mirzapur.

The BSP will contest from Saharanpur, Bijnor, Nagina, Aligarh, Agra, Fatehpur Sikri, Dhaurahara, Sitapur, Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, Kaiserganj, Basti, Salempur, Jaunpur, Bhadohi and Deoria, among other constituencies.