Film personalities former sportsmen in TMC celeb list

    Kolkata, March 5 (PTI) Film personalities Sayoni
Ghosh, Koushani Mukherjee, Raj Chakraborty to former Indian
cricketer Manoj Tiwari and former footballer Bidesh Bose are
among the TMC candidates for the coming assembly poll in West
    TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee Friday announced the list,
which laid emphasis on youths, minority, women and backward
    The other film personalities who were given the
party's tickets were cine director Sayantika Banerjee and
actor June Maliah.
    While some of them had joined Trinamool Congress
earlier this year, others like Sayantika Banerjee, Sayani
Ghosh had done so only a few days ago.
    Chakraborty has been given a ticket from Barrackpore
assembly constituency. Silbhadra Dutta, the TMC MLA from the
seat, had switched over to BJP last year.
    Koushani and Sayantika have been given tickets from
Krishnanagar Uttar and Bankura assembly constituencies
    Actors Kanchan Mullick, June Maliah and Sayoni Ghosh
have been fielded from Uttarpara, Medinipur and Asansol
Dakshin assembly constituencies.
     Actors Lovely Maitra and Soham Chakraborty will
contest elections from Sonarpur Dakshin in South 24 Parganas
to Chandipur in the East Midnapore district.
    The two sportspersons Bose and Tiwari will be in the
fray from Uluberia East and Shibpur constituencies in Howrah
district respectively.
    Former IPS officer Humayun Kabir, who had quit his job
to join TMC last month, was fielded from Debra in West
Midnapore district.
    The star-studded TMC list is nothing new as party
supremo Banerjee is known for her affinity for celebs.
    The TMC presently has actors Dev (Deepak Adhikari),
Mimi Chakraborty, Nusrat Jahan and Satabdi Roy as its MPs in
Lok Sabha.
In 2014, yesteryear actress Moon Moon Sen, Sandhya
Roy, Tapas Paul were elected to the Lok Sabha MPs as TMC
     The BJP, which has emerged as the main opposition in
the state, mocked Banerjee for fielding so many celebrities.
    These are attempts to hush up factional feuds. The
TMC doesnt have leaders to field from the seats, so they have
fielded so many actors and actresses, BJP state president
Dilip Ghosh said. PTI PNT KK

(This story has not been edited by THE WEEK and is auto-generated from PTI)