West Bengal bypolls: TMC wins in Noapara, leads in Uluberia

tmc-west-bengal-file-pti [File] Trinamool Congress are ahead of its rivals during the first round of counting of votes of the bypolls held on January 29 | PTI

The Trinamool Congress today wrested the Noapara assembly seat from the Congress and surged ahead of its rivals in the Uluberia parliamentary constituency after the initial rounds of counting of votes for the bypolls.

At Noapara, the ruling party's Sunil Singh stormed ahead by more than 30,000 votes over Sandip Banerjee of the BJP.

TMC's Singh secured 46,281 votes whereas his nearest rival of CPI(M), Gargi Chatterjee, bagged 16,444 votes. Sandip Banerjee of the BJP secured 15,570 votes whereas Goutam Bose of the Congress managed to get just 4,742 votes.

The TMC also took an early lead in the Uluberia Lok Sabha byelection by a margin of 4,767 votes.

After the first round of counting in Uluberia Lok Sabha seat, TMC candidate Sajda Ahmed secured 6,462 votes, whereas CPI(M) candidate Sabiruddin Molla bagged 1,695 votes. Anupam Mallik of the BJP and S.K. Madassar Hossain Warsi of the Congress managed 1,471 and 256 votes respectively.

The elections to both the seats were held on January 29.

The bypolls were necessitated following the deaths of Sultan Ahmed, the sitting TMC MP from Uluberia Lok Sabha constituency in Howrah district, and Madhusudan Ghose, Congress MLA from Noapara assembly seat in North 24 Parganas district.

Sajda Ahmed, the TMC candidate from Uluberia parliamentary seat, is the wife of Sultan Ahmed. 

This browser settings will not support to add bookmarks programmatically. Please press Ctrl+D or change settings to bookmark this page.

Related Reading

    Show more