UP voters re-established public issues are paramount: Priyanka Gandhi pens thank you message for cadres, voters

Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra said through the party’s decisive victory in

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra (File) Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra walks during Vijayabheri Yatra in Mulugu district | PTI

Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra said through the party’s decisive victory in the Lok Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh, voters in the state have sent a strong message that public issues are paramount in politics.

Priyanka tweeted, “My salute to all my colleagues of UP Congress. I saw you working hard in the sun and dust, you did not bow down, you did not stop, you showed courage to fight in the toughest of times.” The Congress leader in charge of Uttar Pradesh said despite facing several adversities, including facing false cases, party cadres remained firm except for a few who left in fear. “You were put in jail, you were repeatedly put under house arrest but you did not get scared. Many leaders left in fear, you remained firm,” she said. 

“I am proud of you and the conscious people of UP, who understood the depth and truth of this country and gave a strong message to the whole of India to save our Constitution. You have re-established an old ideal in today's politics - that public issues are paramount, the price of ignoring them is heavy,” she said. The Congress leader added, “Elections are of the public, it is the public who fights and it is the public who wins”. 

The BJP-led NDA suffered a jolt in Uttar Pradesh, where it won just 36 seats as against the INDIA bloc which bagged 43 -- a significant contribution to the overall tally of the opposition alliance.

The Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party, which leads the INDIA bloc in Uttar Pradesh, alone got 37 seats this time, becoming the single largest party in the politically crucial state. The BJP managed to win just 33 seats.

 SP ally Congress won six seats, including Amethi and Rae Bareli, in the elections. In the NDA, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) won two seats while Anupriya Patel-led Apna Dal (S) got one. 

-with inputs from PTI.

Join our WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news, exclusives and videos on WhatsApp