Powered by
Sponsored by

Former BJP CMs, Union ministers get new roles

Focus of these leaders will be to expand party's base in different states

bjp-flag-salil-bera Representational Image | Salil Bera

The BJP, on Friday, announced appointment of various leaders as in-charges of different states. These include former Gujarat chief minister Vijay Rupani, former Tripura chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb, former Union ministers Prakash Javadekar and Mahesh Sharma.

With these appointments, the party gave new responsibilities to a large number of leaders, who did not have any organisational roles.

While Rupani has been made in-charge of Punjab and Chandigarh, Deb has been assigned to look after affairs in Haryana. Javadekar will look after Kerala.

Party general secretary Vinod Tawde is the new in-charge for Bihar, and former Bihar minister Mangal Pandey for West Bengal.

Party spokesperson Sambit Patra has been made coordinator for northeastern states and BJP national secretary Rituraj Sinha will be joint-coordinator.

Senior party leader and central election committee member Om Mathur will be in-charge of the party's affairs in Chhattisgarh and its former Uttar Pradesh unit president Laxmikant Bajpai will look after the work in Jharkhand.

According to news agency ANI, these appointments have been made keeping in mind caste and other electoral factors.

According to media reports, the focus of these leaders will be to expand party's base in different states and winning states that go to polls in the near future.

📣 The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines