Powered by
Sponsored by

Karnataka BJP MLAs to meet today evening to choose new CM

G. Kishan Reddy, Dharmendra Pradhan and Arun Singh will be observers at the meeting

bjp-flag-salil-bera Representational Image | Salil Bera

The BJP legislature party in Karnataka is scheduled to meet at 7pm on Tuesday to decide on a new chief minister after B.S. Yediyurappa stepped down on Monday.

The BJP has deputed Union Ministers G. Kishan Reddy and Dharmendra Pradhan and Arun Singh, the Karnataka state in-charge, to be observers for the legislature party meeting, which will be held at the Capitol Hotel. Apparently downplaying claims the next chief minister would be selected by the BJP top brass, Kishan Reddy told ANI, "I will go to Bengaluru, a meeting will be held with all MLAs; things will be decided there."

Kishan Reddy emphasised, "I don't know. MLAs will decide," when asked whether there was a front-runner for the chief minister’s post.

Times Now reported that the observers would interact with the MLAs and senior leaders in the state before finalising a new chief minister. The observers are also likely to interact with Yediyurappa, who is expected to remain a key player in state politics.

The Indian Express reported a new chief minister could be sworn in by Thursday.

(With inputs from Prathima Nandakumar)


đź“Ł The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines