Karnataka bans arrival of flights, trains, vehicles from 5 states

The decision comes in the wake of fresh spike in COVID-19 cases

The total number of coronavirus cases in Karnataka has gone up to 2,493 | PTI The total number of coronavirus cases in Karnataka has gone up to 2,493 | PTI

The Karnataka government on Thursday decided to ban the incoming transport from five states to contain the spread of coronavirus. No flights, trains or other vehicles from Maharashtra, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan will be allowed to enter the state.

The cabinet decision came in the wake of a fresh spike in the COVID-19 cases in the state. With 75 cases reported in last 24 hours, the total number of coronavirus cases in the state has gone up to 2,493. According to state health department, 47 people have succumbed to the disease so far while 809 patients recovered.

Of the 75 latest cases, 46 are returnees from Maharashtra, six from Tamil Nadu, two from Telangana and one each from Kerala and Delhi.

Also read: Karnataka to open temples from June 1

Most of the states from where incoming transport was banned have reported higher number of COVID-19 cases. With 56,948 cases, Maharashtra has the highest number of COVID-19 cases in the country. Tamil Nadu has 18,545 cases while Gujarat has recorded over 15,000 cases.

"We will see that no infected person from Maharashtra, Gujarat or Tamil Nadu will enter by road, for some for some 10-15 days, because we have heavy load on us,” said state law minister J.C. Madhu.

"We have to test them (those coming from other states) twice. It is consuming a lot of time and we are short of accommodation. So we are restricting movement until these people move out of quarantine," he was quoted as saying by NDTV.

On May 18, Karnataka had banned entry of people from Maharashtra, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu and Kerala.