Delhi poll results: Manish Sisodia wins from Patparganj in photo-finish

No upsets for AAP as doubtful Sisodia sails through; ruling party leading in 63 seats

38-Manish-Sisodia Manish Sisodia | Sanjay Ahlawat

In perhaps the lone tight contest that the national capital witnessed on Tuesday, Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia won the Patparganj seat in East Delhi against BJP's Ravinder Singh Negi. After trailing initially, Sisodia wrested the seat in final rounds of counting with a lead of just more than 3,000 votes. 

It is to be noted that Sisodia is the sitting MLA from Patparganj, where he scripted victory twice before—both in 2015 and 2013. In 2015, he won by a margin of over 28,000 votes against BJP's Vinod Kumar Binny. The Patparganj assembly constituency comprise IP Extension Patparganj, West Vinod Nagar, IP Extension, Mandawali, Mayur Vihar Phase-II, Acharya Niketan, East Vinod Nagar, Kalyanvas, Khichripur Village, Mayur Vihar Phase 1, Shashi Garden, Patparganj Village, and Pandav Nagar.

The high-decibel campaign in Patparganj saw the likes of Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath campaigning for Negi, a first-time candidate. Congress's Laxman Rawat, who finished at a distant third, is also a first-timer. 

Meanwhile, the AAP has extended its lead in 63 assembly constituencies, while the BJP has been reduced to just seven seats, compared to early trend figures.