Powered by
Sponsored by

Banks to be closed on 15 days in July; check dates and cities here

Nine holidays are state-specific holidays for different occasions


Banks in the country will be shut for nine days, in addition to regular holidays such as the second and fourth Saturdays of the month and Sundays. All nine holidays are state-specific holidays for different occasions, according to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) holiday calendar list.

However, online banking services will continue to operate. It must be noted that the bank holidays differ in various states as well and are not observed by all the banks. Banking holidays also depend on the festivals being observed in specific states or notification of specific occasions in those states.

Here is a list of upcoming bank holidays, including state-specific holidays, in July:

July 4 – Weekly off (Sunday)

July 10 – Second Saturday

July 11 – Weekly off (Sunday)

July 12 - Kang (Rathajatra)/Ratha Yatra (Imphal/Bhubaneshwar)

July 13 - Bhanu Jayanti (Sikkim)

July 14 - Drukpa Tshechi (Sikkim)

July 16 - Harela (Uttarakhand)

July 17 - U Tirot Sing Day/Kharchi Puja (Agartala/Shillong)

July 18 – Weekly off (Sunday)

July 19 - Guru Rimpoche’s Thungkar Tshechu (Sikkim)

July 20 - Bakrid (Jammu/Kochi)

July 21 - Bakri Id (Id-Ul-Zuha) (Eid-UI-Adha) (All India except for Aizawl, Bhubaneswar, Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram)

July 24 – Fourth Saturday

July 25 – Weekly off (Sunday)

July 31 - Ker Puja (Agartala)

The RBI places bank holidays under three brackets - Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act; Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act and Real Time Gross Settlement Holiday; and Banks’ Closing of Accounts.


📣 The Week is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TheWeekmagazine) and stay updated with the latest headlines