Pinarayi Vijayan to be sworn-in as Kerala CM today

PTI5_19_2016_000352B (File) There will be 12 minister from CPM including Vijayan

Veteran CPM politburo member Pinarayi Vijayan will be sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Kerala on Wednesday.

Governor P. Sathasivam will also administer the oath of office and secrecy to 18 ministers in Thiruvananthapuram at 4 pm. Most of the ministers to be sworn-in are new faces.

According to the list of ministers released by CPM Kerala State Committee, eight MLAs are becoming ministers for the first time. There will be 12 minister from CPM including Vijayan.

While four ministers will be from CPI, three others are from Congress(S), NCP and JD(S).

CPM-led left Democratic Front (LDF) came back to power in Kerala after five years, winning 91 seats in the 140 member Assembly, while UDF won 47 seats.

For the first time in the history of Kerala Assembly, the Bharatiya Janata Party opened its account winning one seat.

This browser settings will not support to add bookmarks programmatically. Please press Ctrl+D or change settings to bookmark this page.
Topics : #Kerala

Related Reading

    Show more