TN polls: DMK-Cong conclude seat identification exercise

PTI4_4_2016_000169B Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad along with DMK President M. Karunanidhi's son and party's treasurer M. K. Stalin addressing media after completing the seat sharing at Gopalapuram residence in Chennai on Monday | PTI

DMK and Congress on Thursday concluded their exercise of identifying the constituencies that would be fought by the latter in the May 16 Assembly polls.

"We are very happy and we are going very satisfied, the 41 constituencies that we identified and sought have been given to us," Tamil Nadu Congress Committee president E.V.K.S. Elangovan told reporters emerging from the Gopalapuram residence of DMK chief Karunanidhi.

Earlier, he concluded an agreement with Karunanidhi over the seats that would be fought by his party.

On April 4, DMK allotted 41 seats to Congress and it was announced by them that they would soon identify their seats.

"So far as we are concerned, Kalaignar (Karunanidhi) should become the Chief Minister again and we will work whole-heartedly for that," the TNCC chief said.

He said his party would soon name candidates for all the 41 seats in four or five days.

The constituencies that have been given to Congress are spread across 31 of the 32 districts of Tamil Nadu.

The seats are Tiruttani, Ambattur, Royapuram, Mylapore, Sriperumbudur, Maduravoyal, Arcot, Hosur, Kalasapakkam, Cheyyar, Attur, Sankagiri, Namakkal, Gobichettypalayam, and Udhagamandalam; Kangeyanm, Dharapuram, Sulur, Coimbatore South, Vedachandur, Karur, Tiruchi East, Musiri, Jayamkondam, Kattumannarkoil, Vedaranyam, Nannilam, Papanasam, Pattukottai, Aranthangi, Karaikudi, Madurai North, Thirumangalam, Sivakasi, Mudukulathur, Srivaikundam, Thenkasi, Nanguneri, Colachel, Killiyur and Vilavancode.

This browser settings will not support to add bookmarks programmatically. Please press Ctrl+D or change settings to bookmark this page.

Related Reading

    Show more