Three Indian delegations to attend Mother Teresa's canonisation

Sushma-swaraj-pti.jpg.image.975.568 External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj | PTI

Three delegations from India will be heading to the Vatican for the canonisation of Mother Teresa. The event is on September 4.

External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj will lead the country's official delegation, which will also comprise of ten other members. They are: Harsimrat Kaur Badal (union minister, food processing), K.V. Thomas (MP), Francis D'Souza (deputy chief minister, Goa), Jose K. Mani (MP), Anto Anthony (MP), Conrad K. Sangma (MP), Kurian Joseph (Supreme Court judge), Harish Salve (former solicitor general), Theodore Mascarenhas (secretary general of Catholic Boshops' Conference of India), K.J. Alphons and Sujata Mehta (secretary West, MEA).

Apart from attending the canonisation function, Swaraj is expected to participate in some bilaterals with her Italian counterparts.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamta Banerjee and Delhi Chief Minister had also applied for political clearances for their delegations to the event, which has been given, said external affairs spokesperson Vikas Swarup.

This browser settings will not support to add bookmarks programmatically. Please press Ctrl+D or change settings to bookmark this page.
Topics : #Mother Teresa

Related Reading

    Show more