Pinarayi Vijayan sworn in as Kerala CM

pinarayi-vijayan-swearing-in Pinarayi Vijayan taking oath as new chief minister of Kerala

Communist Party of India-Marxist leader Pinarayi Vijayan was sworn-in as the 22nd Chief Minister of Kerala on Wesdnesday in a colourful function at the Central Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.

Vijayan was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Justice (Retd) P Sathasivam at the Central Stadium here. Apart from the CPI-M strongman, 18 others also took oath as ministers.

Leaders cutting across party line, celebrities and cultural leaders were present during the function which was attended by around 35,000 people.

CPI-M general secretary Sitaram Yechury, politburo member Prakash Karat and senior leader V.S. Achuthanandan former chief minister Oommen Chandy, Muslim League leader P.K. Kunhalikutty and BJP leader O. Rajagopal attended the function. Actors like Mammooty, Dileep and KPAC Lalitha also made their presence.

The capital city was a sea of red, with CPI(M) party flags and red buntings flying high in various corners. Party workers were dressed in red shirts and red caps.

Of the 18 ministers also took oath on Wednesday, twelve ministers are from CPI-M, four from CPI and one each from Janata Dal (S), Congress (S) and NCP. CPI(M) and CPI ministers took the oath and made solemn pledge, while other Front ministers took the oath in the name of God.

The first cabinet meeting is expectec to be held at 6.30 pm.

Full list of ministers

Pinarayi Vijayan – Chief Minister, Home, Vigilance, IT
Thomas Issac – Finance
E.P. Jayarajan – Industry, Sports
K.K. Shylaja – Health, Social welfare
A.K. Balan – Law, Culture, Backward Community
T.P. Ramakrishnan – Excise, Labour
G. Sudhakaran – Public Work, Registration Dept
A.C. Moideen – Co-operation, tourism
Kadakampalli Surendran – Electricity, Devaswom
J. Mercy Kutty Amma – Fisheries, Traditional Industries
Prof. C. Raveendranath – Education
K.T. Jaleel – Local Self Government
E. Chandrasekharan – Revenue
V.S. Sunil Kumar – Agriculture
P. Thilothaman – Food and Civil Supplies
K. Raju – Forest
Ramachandran Kadannappally – Port Development
Mathew T. Thomas – Water Resources
A.K. Saseendran – Transport

P. Sriramakrishnan

Deputy Speaker
V. Sasi

The CPI-M led LDF had bagged 91 seats in the recent elections to the 140-member Kerala Assembly restricting the Congress-led UDF to 47. The BJP, first time in history, opened account in the state with party leader O. Rajagopal winning Nemam constituency in Thiruvananthapuram district.

Earlier Vijayan called on Kerala Governor Justice (retd) P. Sathasivam and handed over a list of his 19-member cabinet. The governor greeted Vijayan with a bouquet and exchanged pleasantries. The meeting lasted for about 15 minutes.

This browser settings will not support to add bookmarks programmatically. Please press Ctrl+D or change settings to bookmark this page.

Related Reading

    Show more