Jaya replaces 3 AIAMDK candidates in Puducherry

Jayalalithaa AIADMK supremo J. Jayalalithaa | PTI

AIADMK supremo J. Jayalalithaa on Wednesday changed three party candidates for assembly elections in Puducherry and seven in Tamil Nadu.

In Puducherry, M. Shankar (Thirubuvanai), G. Murugaian (Thirunallar) and K.A.U. Asana (Karaikal South) will be the official candidates instead of those announced earlier.

The new seven candidates fielded in place of the earlier ones in Tamil Nadu are: B. Satyanarayanan (T. Nagar), S. Semmalai (Mettur), N. Murugumaran (Kattumanarkoil), S. Pounraj (Poompuhar), O.S. Manian (Vedaranyam), S. Kamaraj (Mannarkudi) and A. Nanjil Murugesan (Nagercoil).

The Tamil Nadu Chief Minister had on Monday announced candidates for 227 of the 234 seats in Tamil Nadu and all 30 seats in Puducherry for the elections.

Elections in the union territory will be held on May 16 and counting of votes on May 19. AIADMK had secured 5 seats in Puducherry in the 2011 elections.

This browser settings will not support to add bookmarks programmatically. Please press Ctrl+D or change settings to bookmark this page.